Etching Glass

My girlfriend Fiona said that she had etched a glass as a gift to her dad. It sounded like a lot of fun, so she brought me the supplies and said we could make an etched glass.

As soon as I got the glass I realized “oh crap” I have no clue what to do. It was a totally blank canvas and I could do anything I wanted.

Finally I came up with some words I wanted to write out.

I had already tried drawing a bunch of stuff, and my drawings of letters weren’t coming out that well so I went straight to the computer, and came up with this:

I had wanted it to be relatively easy to cut out of paper so I thought the jagged lines would help, rather than lots of curves. Next I printed it out, laid some tape over the glass and then started to cut out the stencil.

When working that small, its tough to work in all the details. The fact that the tape was peeling up didn’t help.

After it was all stenciled out I applied the etching solution.

After waiting 10 mins, I ended up with this:

Not perfect, but not bad for my first time. Not sure if I’ll do anymore for myself, but maybe a cool gift idea.

And now for a random fun bonus shot:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Etching Glass

  1. Christy says:

    Darn! At first I thought it was going to be a glass for me!

Leave a comment